Review: As Greek as it Gets by Sue Roberts

Posted 21/04/2020 by Isabelle MBTL in review / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 18 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

I received this book for free from Bookouture, NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: As Greek as it Gets by Sue RobertsAs Greek as it Gets by Sue Roberts
Published by Bookouture on May 18, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Adult
Pages: 240
Format: digital e-book
Buy on Amazon Buy on Amazon UKBuy on Google Play
Goodreads

Let the hot Greek sun melt all your troubles away… A laugh-out-loud read full of warmth, joy and summer feeling!

Alice Clark is delighted when her boyfriend Max proposes. From her dead-end job to her straight-up-dead houseplants, her life hasn’t exactly turned out how she imagined, so she can’t wait to start some wedding planning.

But the intimate affair she imagined soon grows wildly out of control, along with Alice’s doubts. Just as things reach breaking point between the couple, Alice’s best friend whisks her away for an escape to a sun-kissed Greek island.

Sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and a cocktail – or three – and Alice soon finds herself letting loose and relaxing into the Greek way of life. When she visits a gorgeous village nestled in the hilltops overlooking the sea, and meets a friendly local woman with a very special business – and a very handsome son – Alice is surprised by how drawn she feels to these people and this life.

As the sun sets on her Greek holiday, Alice knows she has some big decisions to make. Will finding herself mean losing the life she had planned? Or could it be the start of something else entirely?

A feel-good read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

Readers adore Sue Roberts’ escapist reads:

‘I absolutely LOVED, no make that ADORED reading it… I was hooked… I stayed up reading the book until the early hours of the morning.’ Ginger Book Geek, 5 stars

‘Oh my God!!!!… I really loved this book… so good and sweet that it is very hard to leave behind.’ The Nerdy Bookarazzi

‘Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside… Had all of Sue Roberts’ usual banter and warmth… A perfect summer read.’ The Cosiest Corner

‘Fantastic! Stayed up late to finish it. Great summer read.’ Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

‘So delightfully funny that I found myself laughing out loud… A lovely heart-warming romantic comedy… Would definitely recommend.’ Stardust Book Reviews

‘A laugh-out-loud, feel-good, amazing book… One of my top reads of the year.’ Odyssey Across the Shelves

‘This book was bursting with everything I love… so many laugh-out-loud moments! So let’s recap: gorgeous setting✔️ delightful characters✔️ strong friendships✔️ sweet romance✔️ tremendous laughs✔️ glorious food✔️’ Audio Killed the Bookmark

‘Fun, friendship and a Mediterranean setting… I read this in a couple of days as I found I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘I was enraptured every step of the way… The perfect pick-me-up to bring on those summer vibes.’ Stacy Is Reading

‘Will warm your heart… Perfect for getting you in a summery mood.’ All Things Bookie, 5 stars

‘I absolutely loved the story… captivating.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘This is a delightful read where summer sun and friendship is what is needed.’ Chells and Books

‘What a delightful read!… Full of warmth, humour and culture… I was happy to immerse myself in this book!’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘Heart-warming and captivating… Will have you in a summer haze in no time!’ Goodreads Reviewer

three-stars
one-flame

Contemporary Romance; Adult

First Person, female-POV

This is a standalone book with HEA.

I’ve had a lot of mixed feelings with this book. I’ve finished a few days ago, but I gave myself some distance from it, before I wrote my review.

I guess this wasn’t really my cup of tea. For some reason, it didn’t work for me.

Even though I liked the concept of the plot and its amazing setting, I had a hard time connecting with the characters and it all felt a bit flat for me.

21/35 STARS –  3 STARS (between 21 stars and 24 stars)

Addictiveness: 2 Character: 2 Cover: 5 Freshness: 3.5 Plot: 3.5 Romance: 2 Writing Style: 3

Action 0/5 Angst 2/5 Darkness 0/5 Humor 3/5 Romance 3.5/5 Suspense/Mystery 0/5

Would I recommend? I don’t think so.

Would I re-read this book/series? No.

Would I read more from the author? I don’t know.

Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, color-font 5/5, buy 5/5  I’m obsessed with book covers. I love to find snippets of the stories within the art. This one was perfect. It was what attracted me first to read this book. The art was fun, vibrant and unique. The colors used were spot on and the art told us a story. We can guess the setting and the atmosphere of the book. The title is catchy and the subtitle keeps the reader guessing. I would definitely buy this book by its cover without needing to read the blurb!!!

Freshness: 3.5/5 I really liked the concept of the story and the it felt new, different than most out there. As fresh as mint tea!!!

Plot: believable 4/5, conflict 3.5/5, dialogue 3/5, ending 4/5, enjoyment 2.5/5, opening 4/5, pace 3/5, setting 5/5, subplots 3/5, twists 4/5  Good opening and really good ending. Believable plot, with nice dialogues and ok pace. Superb setting, ok subplots with an interesting twist at the end. Ok level of enjoyment!

This book had an amazing setting, that was superbly described and very well detailed. It took me back to when I was visiting Greece and it felt real and believable.

I also have to mention that the twist at the end was cute and unexpected. It really made the story better!!!

Writing Style: 3/5 Ms. Roberts knows how to describe scenery and make the reader goes in a journey through it. I felt the lively, sunny greek atmosphere. The idea for the plot was good and felt fresh. The writing was clean of mistakes and felt cohesive. Ok writing!!!

Addictiveness: 2/5 I think of myself as a character reader, and because I had a hard time connecting with the characters, the story never really grabbed me.

Character: hero 2/5, heroine 2.5/5, secondary characters 3/5, growth 3/5, real 4/5 I’m a character reader. I need to feel a connection with at least one character to really be invested in the story. I had a hard time connecting with them because there was not enough background on them. In fact, this book was all about Alice, and I still don’t really know who was Max. Max felt a lot like a secondary character and never like the hero of the story. Because this is a romance, I’m always expect a depth of profiling both the hero and heroine.

Alice was an ok heroine. She was having a hard time with the next step of her relationship. At the same time that it was easy for me to see her struggles, I never really saw a maturity of Alice understanding them and evolving from them during the story.

She was going to be married in a couple of months, she was going on a trip with her best friends, like a “bachelorette party/trip”, and she was the least excited about it. She was overwhelmed with not only her wedding, but also with her boyfriend’s extravaganza.

Then, she came back from her trip, had a bit of rough path, but nothing major, or at least, we readers don’t really learn much about these hard times.

After a few chapters, the story jumped at the sweet and very cute and perfect ending for her. I only wanted to have seen and felt her pain and angst. I wanted to have gone into that self journey with her. I’ve missed feeling and understanding her emotions.

Max was a mild hero. He felt more like a secondary character than an integral part of this romance. His story arch never really evolved and I don’t know what to say about him.

Secondary characters I’ve liked Ria, Molly and Kerry. They seemed like good friends. I don’t know if I wouldn’t have reacted exactly like Molly, so I would rather not judge her actions.

Antagonists/villains I believe the biggest problem of the conflict was communication. Max and Alice were not talking to each other and when they talked if felt like the other wasn’t listening. But I guess Vangelis was sort of an antagonist. I have to say, I really liked him and I was rooting for him. I believe I learned more about him than some other major characters of the story.

Characters and their development were my biggest problem of the book for me. They were hard to like, connect or understand!!!

Romance: believable 3/5, chemistry 2/5, description 3/5, development 2/5, steam 1/5  I don’t think it really worked for me. Because I didn’t really learn much about Max, I never felt their chemistry. I read a lot how he was Alice’s perfect man and how much they loved each other, and because of I guess I could say this was a cute, sweet love!!!

You MAY read this because you enjoy the author; you SHOULD read this because you like sweet romance; you MUST read this because it portrays Greece and greek culture beautifully!!!

three-stars

About Sue Roberts

Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third ‘My Summer of love and limoncello.’ will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book ‘My Big Greek Summer.’ was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue’s books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.

Please follow, like and share us:
onpost_follow
Tweet
Share