Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection

Posted 20/04/2018 by Isabelle MBTL in review, tours / 0 Comments

Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection

Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionThe Lexi Blake Crossover Collection by Lexi Blake, Larissa Ione, J. Kenner, Corinne Michaels, Carly Phillips, Susan Stoker
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Contemporary Romance, Paranormal Romance, BDSM
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

 

 

Discover the Lexi Blake Crossover Collection
Release Date: April 10, 2018

 

 

CLOSE COVER by Lexi Blake

 

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionClose Cover by Lexi Blake
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #1, Masters and Mercenaries #16
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Contemporary Romance, BDSM
Pages: 250
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
four-half-stars
three-flames

Remy Guidry doesn’t do relationships. He tried the marriage thing once, back in Louisiana, and learned the hard way that all he really needs in life is a cold beer, some good friends, and the occasional hookup. His job as a bodyguard with McKay-Taggart gives him purpose and lovely perks, like access to Sanctum. The last thing he needs in his life is a woman with stars in her eyes and babies in her future.

Lisa Daley’s life is finally going in the right direction. She has finally graduated from college after years of putting herself through school. She’s got a new job at an accounting firm and she’s finished her Sanctum training. Finally on her own and having fun, her life seems pretty perfect. Except she’s lonely and the one man she wants won’t give her a second look.

There is one other little glitch. Apparently, her new firm is really a front for the mob and now they want her dead. Assassins can really ruin a fun girls’ night out. Suddenly strapped to the very same six-foot-five-inch hunk of a bodyguard who makes her heart pound, Lisa can’t decide if this situation is a blessing or a curse.

As the mob closes in, Remy takes his tempting new charge back to the safest place he knows—his home in the bayou. Surrounded by his past, he can’t help wondering if Lisa is his future. To answer that question, he just has to keep her alive.

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

That is, I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series, McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing. This one is of Remy Guidry. I have seen him before in a few books of the series, I remember he was a one-night stand type of guy.

I have to say, I have read several Masters and Mercenaries, but not all. Somehow, I have skipped some, I don’t know why. But this one was one of my favorites if not my favorite from this series.

*** I have to say something, I read all 6 books of the crossover and I believe this one should have been the last! This one feel like the original Masters and Mercenaries and Ms. Blake has given a prologue and epilogue that kind of shows all six stories overlapping each other, as if they are happening at the same time. In fact, there is not a right order in the crossover, but I believe for a fan of Masters and Mercenaries, this should be the last one!!!***

  • Addictiveness: I love the series. This one was amazing. It kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn’t put the book down.
  • Character: hero 5/5, heroine 5/5, secondary characters 5/5, growth 5/5, real 5/5 All characters are easy to love, connect and understand. Remy was amazing! Really, he was hot and very endearing. His sweet side was unexpected. The guy was Macgyver, he could do it all. He had his to-stupid-to-live moment, but he was not bad at apologizing. He felt real! Lisa was also great. She was a bit stubborn, but she was a big part of it all. She didn’t let people walk over her, but when she knew she really needed help, she accepted. Character development here was amazing and I’ve loved how they both shined equally. Oh, there are so many amazing secondary characters that I know M&M will go on forever. Oh, Remy’s family is also very interesting.
  • Cover: art 4/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I like this cover, but I don’t love it. Yes, I would buy this book without reading the blurb, but just seeing Ms. Blake’s name and the series made me choose this. But I wanted more. I don’t know what bothers me exactly but I don’t like this huge font, I don’t understand the big red gap on the left side. Yes, I’m picky and neurotic with cover arts. 🙂
  • Freshness: Even though  the story doesn’t have anything we could say WOW, how different, the overall book has a fresh vibe. I was always wondering what would happen next.
  • Plot: believable 5/5, conflict 5/5, dialogue 5/5, ending 5/5, enjoyment 5/5, opening 5/5, pace 5/5, setting 5/5, subplots 5/5, twists 5/5  Great opening and wonderful ending. Perfect conflict and dialogues written by a wordsmith. There is a bit of angst here, specially because the hero kept important information from the heroine.  A few unexpected twists here and there, that makes this story believable and enjoyable.
  • Romance: believable 4/5, chemistry 5/5, description 5/5, development 4/5, steam 3.5/5 Their chemistry was believable. There was a bit of everything. Light-BDSM, with some good smut. There is a jealousy, past coming to haunt, there is a good foundation for a true love story.
  • Writing Style: Fabulous writing! Going back to the origins of masters and mercenaries. Amazing character development; fantastic plot; good romance!!!

 

  • I can’t think of anything!

 

 

One of the best books of Masters and Mercenaries. Ms. Blake here went back to the original formula of the series and it felt vintage.

32/35 STARS –  4.5 STARS (34.5 stars between 31.5 and 33 stars)

Addictiveness: 5 Character: 5  Cover: 4  Freshness: 4  Plot: 5  Romance: 4 Writing Style: 5

  • Action 5/5
  • Angst 3/5
  • Darkness 0/5
  • Humor 4/5
  • Romance 5/5
  • Suspense/Mystery 3/5
  • Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for every Masters and Mercenaries fan!!!
  • Would I re-read this book? Yes!!!!
  • Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!
  • Would I read more from the author? She is a must  read for me!

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because this feels Vintage M&M!!!

 

HER GUARDIAN ANGEL by Larissa Ione

 

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionHER GUARDIAN ANGEL by Larissa Ione
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #2, Demonica Underworld #6
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on (April 10, 2018)
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 125
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
four-half-stars
three-half-flames

After a difficult childhood and a turbulent stint in the military, Declan Burke finally got his act together. Now he’s a battle-hardened professional bodyguard who takes his job at McKay-Taggart seriously and his playtime – and his playmates – just as seriously. One thing he never does, however, is mix business with pleasure. But when the mysterious, gorgeous Suzanne D’Angelo needs his protection from a stalker, his desire for her burns out of control, tempting him to break all the rules…even as he’s drawn into a dark, dangerous world he didn’t know existed.

Suzanne is an earthbound angel on her critical first mission: protecting Declan from an emerging supernatural threat at all costs. To keep him close, she hires him as her bodyguard. It doesn’t take long for her to realize that she’s in over her head, defenseless against this devastatingly sexy human who makes her crave his forbidden touch.

Together they’ll have to draw on every ounce of their collective training to resist each other as the enemy closes in, but soon it becomes apparent that nothing could have prepared them for the menace to their lives…or their hearts.

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series,  but McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing.

This is Declan Burke’s book.

Now, the catchy part here is that this is Ms. Ione’s book, and is set inside Demonica Underworld. Yes, this is a paranormal romance inside the M&M series. Crazy, but with these amazing authors, this story worked.

 

 

  • Addictiveness: Highly addictive. I love both series and it was a great crossover. Amazing writing, great pace, that had me ending wanting more.
  • Character: hero 5/5, heroine 5/5, secondary characters 5/5, growth 5/5, real 5/5 All characters are easy to love, connect and understand. Suzanne is an earthbound guardian angel, that has to protect Declan a uber alpha-male that believes he is body-guarding Suzanne. 🙂 I loved this twist! Suzanne doesn’t really know how to deal with the foreigner feelings she is having for the human and Declan doesn’t really know why he is attracted to her (he believes she is a spoiled brat). Their banter was great, I love character development here. Lots of great secondary characters from Demonica Underworld.
  • Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I love this cover, I only wished for the font to be a bit smaller. But is great! Sexy with the hint of paranormal. It tells a lot with something so simple.
  • Freshness: Unique!!! The overlapping of the series is perfectly done.
  • Plot: believable 5/5, conflict 5/5, dialogue 5/5, ending 5/5, enjoyment 5/5, opening 5/5, pace 5/5, setting 5/5, subplots 5/5, twists 5/5  Amazing! Really, the alpha-hero believes he is guarding the angel, that is protecting him. The heroine wants her wings and her new assignment becomes more than she expected. The demon that is after the hero is vicious. I love how the author intertwined these two characters and their different worlds (human and paranormal) together. In small details this plot felt believable and real.
  • Romance: believable 5/5, chemistry 5/5, description 5/5, development 4/5, steam 3.5/5 Their chemistry was high. The way the heroine had to discover herself and what she was feeling was beautiful. Together they were fun and hot as hell. There is not many scenes here, but the ones that are here all have a reason to be.
  • Writing Style: Fantastic writing! Fabulous plot! Really, felt like a masterpiece here. This is a novella that explained really well the Demonica Underworld. Great characters, sexy-fun romance!

 

  • I don’t know, I guess for those that are reading this because they are M&M fans and don’t really know Demonica Underworld, it may be confused with all the secondary characters.

 

 

One of the best books of the crossover.Somehow, the paranormal romance meshed really well with M&M.

32.5/35 STARS –  4.5 STARS (34.5 stars between 31.5 and 33 stars)

Addictiveness: 5 Character: 5  Cover: 4.5  Freshness: 5  Plot: 4  Romance: 4 Writing Style: 5

  • Action 5/5
  • Angst 0/5
  • Darkness 0/5
  • Humor 4/5
  • Romance 5/5
  • Suspense/Mystery 3/5
  • Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for every Demonica Underworld fan.
  • Would I re-read this book? Yes!!!!
  • Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!
  • Would I read more from the author? She is a must  read for me!

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because this is fun and sexy!!!

 

JUSTIFY ME by J. Kenner

 

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionJUSTIFY ME by J. Kenner
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #3,
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM, novella
Pages: 125
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
three-half-stars
three-flames

McKay-Taggart operative Riley Blade has no intention of returning to Los Angeles after his brief stint as a consultant on mega-star Lyle Tarpin’s latest action flick. Not even for Natasha Black, Tarpin’s sexy personal assistant who’d gotten under his skin. Why would he, when Tasha made it absolutely clear that—attraction or not—she wasn’t interested in a fling, much less a relationship.

But when Riley learns that someone is stalking her, he races to her side. Determined to not only protect her, but to convince her that—no matter what has hurt her in the past—he’s not only going to fight for her, he’s going to win her heart. Forever.

 

 

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series,  but McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing.

This is ….  where I got really confused with the crossover.

Now, the catchy part here is that this is Ms. Kenner’s book, and is really a novella inside her Stark Trilogy. The only part of M&M here was the appropriation of the hero.

 

  • Addictiveness: Medium addictiveness. It was a fast, sexy read!
  • Character: hero 4/5, heroine 4/5, secondary characters 4/5, growth 5/5, real 5/5 All characters are easy to like, connect and understand. They are fun together, but this story is short and it doesn’t have enough room for major characters development.
  • Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I love this cover, but it doesn’t have much of the story on it. I would buy this book without the blurb. Is sexy and the author is one that I love.
  • Plot: believable 4/5, conflict 3/5, dialogue 4/5, ending 3/5, enjoyment 4/5, opening 5/5, pace 4/5, setting 5/5, subplots 3/5, twists 4/5  Is a fast-paced read with a bit of suspense and a dash of romance.
  • Romance: believable 5/5, chemistry 5/5, description 5/5, development 4/5, steam 4/5 There is good chemistry, great smut (light BDSM) and a believable love story.
  • Writing Style:  Good writing! Great pace, good smut, ok plot with lovable characters.

 

  • Freshness: It predictable. But is very well written that it doesn’t really matter.
  • I really like the story here and I wished this to be a full novel.

 

Because I haven’t read any book of the Stark Trilogy before, I felt like missing something a few times. Now, I’m really looking forward to read this series. Ms. Kenner here uses the perfect amount of suspense with her great sexy, fun writing style.

26.5/35 STARS –  3.5 STARS (24.5 stars between 27.5 and 33 stars)

Addictiveness: 4 Character: 4  Cover: 4  Freshness: 3  Plot: 3  Romance: 3.5 Writing Style: 4

  • Action 3/5
  • Angst 0/5
  • Darkness 0/5
  • Humor 3/5
  • Romance 5/5
  • Suspense/Mystery 3/5
  • Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for every that enjoys a short, sexy read.
  • Would I re-read this book? Yes!!!!
  • Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!
  • Would I read more from the author? Yes.

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because this is suspenseful and sexy!!!

 

SAY YOU WON’T LET GO by Corinne Michaels

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection SAY YOU WON'T LET GO by Corinne Michaels
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #4, Return to Me #3.5
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Contemporary Romance, novella
Pages: 125
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
three-stars
three-flames

I’ve had two goals my entire life:
1. Make it big in country music.
2. Get the hell out of Bell Buckle.

I was doing it. I was on my way, until Cooper Townsend landed backstage at my show in Dallas.

This gorgeous, rugged, man of few words was one cowboy I couldn’t afford to let distract me. But with his slow smile and rough hands, I just couldn’t keep away.

Now, there are outside forces conspiring against us. Maybe we should’ve known better? Maybe not. Even with the protection from Wade Rycroft, bodyguard for McKay-Taggart, I still don’t feel safe. I won’t let him get hurt because of me. All I know is that I want to hold on, but know the right thing to do is to let go…

 

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series,  but McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing.

This is … where I totally got confused with the crossover. Neither the hero, nor the heroine are part of the M&M world. The Masters and Mercenaries connection here is very slim. Really the hero hire them to guard the heroine. They are like background in this story.

Another difficulty for me here was I haven’t read Ms. Michaels series before, so I lost!!!

 

  • Addictiveness: Light addictiveness. It was a fast, sexy read!
  • Character: hero 4/5, heroine 4/5, secondary characters 4/5, growth 3/5, real 3/5 I really liked Cooper and Emily was also good, but I didn’t feel their connection. They are good characters, but maybe I’ve missed knowing them better to feel them as a couple.
  • Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I love this cover, but it doesn’t have much of the story on it. I would probably buy this book without the blurb, because is sexy.
  • Plot: believable 3/5, conflict 3/5, dialogue 4/5, ending 3/5, enjoyment 4/5, opening 3/5, pace 4/5, setting 5/5, subplots 3/5, twists 4/5  Is a fast-paced read with suspense and a fast romance.
  • Romance: believable 3/5, chemistry 3/5, description 5/5, development 3/5, steam 3/5 I don’t know, there is a lot going on here, and the story is short, so they didn’t have enough time to develop their romance. There is some great scenes and the description is really good, I just missed the explosion between the two.
  • Writing Style: The writing is really well done. The author doesn’t leave loose end and for a such a short story she crosses all the T. The characters are good, the plot has a nice mystery going on and the romance has some good heat.

 

  • Freshness: There is nothing really new here, but is well written so you don’t miss originality.

 

  • I’m not into parachuting into the middle of a series that I don’t know nothing about. I felt a bit lost here. This is not a stand-alone. At the same time ,I like the writing and I will add this series to my to-read list.

22.5/35 STARS –  3 STARS (22.5 stars between 21 and 24 stars)

Addictiveness: 3 Character: 3  Cover: 4  Freshness: 3  Plot: 3  Romance: 3 Writing Style: 3.5

  • Action 3/5
  • Angst 2/5
  • Darkness 0/5
  • Humor 0/5
  • Romance 5/5
  • Suspense/Mystery 4/5
  • Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for every that follow the series.
  • Would I re-read this book? After reading the series in order, I would.
  • Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!
  • Would I read more from the author? Yes.

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because this is suspenseful and emotional!!!

 

 

HIS TO PROTECT by Carly Phillips

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionHIS TO PROTECT by Carly Phillips
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #5
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 125
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
four-stars
three-half-flames

Talia Shaw has spent her adult life working as a scientist for a big pharmaceutical company. She’s focused on saving lives, not living life. When her lab is broken into and it's clear someone is after the top secret formula she’s working on, she turns to the one man she can trust. The same irresistible man she turned away years earlier because she was too young and naive to believe a sexy guy like Shane Landon could want her.

Shane Landon’s bodyguard work for McKay-Taggart is the one thing that brings him satisfaction in his life. Relationships come in second to the job. Always. Then little brainiac Talia Shaw shows up in his backyard, frightened and on the run, and his world is turned upside down. And not just because she’s found him naked in his outdoor shower, either.

With Talia's life in danger, Shane has to get her out of town and to her eccentric, hermit mentor who has the final piece of the formula she’s been working on, while keeping her safe from the men who are after her. Guarding Talia's body certainly isn't any hardship, but he never expects to fall hard and fast for his best friend’s little sister and the only woman who’s ever really gotten under his skin.

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series,  but McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing.

This is Shane Landon’s book. I believe Carly, after Lexi, was the one that offer more of M&M here. There were cameo appearences of several characters.

 

  • Addictiveness: Highly addictiveness. It was a fast, sexy read!
  • Character: hero 4/5, heroine 4/5, secondary characters 4/5, growth 3/5, real 3/5 Talia and Shane were very easy to love, connect and understand. Reading a few snippets of characters from Masters and Mercenaries was really great. It tied the story well with M&M. For a short story both main characters were well developed and showed some growth.
  • Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I love this cover, but it doesn’t have much of the story on it.The guy is sexy and I love the colors used here. I would buy this book without reading the blurb.
  • Freshness: There is nothing very original here, but the way the formula was used feels fresh and interesting.
  • Plot: believable 5/5, conflict 5/5, dialogue 5/5, ending 5/5, enjoyment 5/5, opening 5/5, pace 4/5, setting 5/5, subplots 4/5, twists 4/5  Really good plot, specially for a novella. It had a bit of angst, a good romance plot with best-friend’s little sister theme. I loved the epilogue!
  • Romance: believable 5/5, chemistry 5/5, description 5/5, development 4/5, steam 4/5 It was sexy, sweet romance with some good steam. Shane was protective and hot, Talia was  sweet but also has a backbone. Their romance was really relatable and believable.
  • Writing Style: Great writing! Wonderful characters, good plot, sexy romance and very believable.

  • I don’t really know.

 

 

Of all the crossover reads this one was the one I would call a stand-alone read. Yes there are characters from M&M, but they are their for our enjoyment and because of the crossover, if they weren’t we would still understand the story.

 

30/35 STARS –  4 STARS (4 stars between 28 and 31 stars)

Addictiveness: 5 Character: 4  Cover: 4  Freshness: 4  Plot: 4  Romance: 4.5 Writing Style: 4.5

Action 3/5

Angst 2/5

Darkness 0/5

Humor 3/5

Romance 5/5

Suspense/Mystery 2/5

Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for all romance lovers.

Would I re-read this book? Yes

Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!

Would I read more from the author? I love the author and I always look forward to reading her books.

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because this is romance at its best!!!

 

 

His to Protect by Carly Phillips

Shane narrowed his gaze, not liking the sound of that at all. “I’ll get to the bottom of it,” he promised, knowing his friend was in China and would be worried sick about his sister.

“Keep in touch,” Tate demanded.

“Will do.” Shane disconnected the call and looked at Talia.

A woman he hadn’t seen since high school because, although he was good friends with her brother, he and Talia ran in different circles.

They always had.

A year younger, the little brainiac who’d tutored him in chemistry his senior year had saved his ass and enabled him to graduate. Too bad he’d been stupid enough to kiss her as a thank you, then shove his tongue down her throat and his hand up her shirt like she was a horny cheerleader and he was the football captain copping a feel. Which he had been.

But she wasn’t that kind of girl. She’d deserved better. No wonder she’d pushed him away and slammed the door in his face, avoiding him afterward. Then life had taken them their separate ways.

But now she needed him and he found irony in that.

He had wrapped the towel around his waist and tucked the corner in to keep it in place. Folding his arms across his chest, he pinned her with his most serious gaze. “Tate says you’re in trouble. And I can’t help you unless I know the extent of it. So let’s hear it,” he said, getting down to what he did best.

Business.

Because if he kept staring at her porcelain skin, big brown doe eyes, and silky, chocolate-colored hair falling haphazardly and adorably out of a bun on the back of her head, his cock wouldn’t go down and this situation would remain embarrassing. Apparently she still made him lose control just as she’d done years ago.

 

 

RESCUING SADIE: A Delta Force Heroes/Masters and Mercenaries Novella by Susan Stoker

 

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review Tour: Lexi Blake Crossover CollectionRESCUING SADIE: by Susan Stoker
Series: Lexi Blake Crossover Collection #6, Delta Force Heroes #7.5
Published by Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated on April 10, 2018
Format: Digital, print
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 125
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
three-stars
three-half-flames

Sadie Jennings was used to being protected. As the niece of Sean Taggart, and the receptionist at McKay-Taggart Group, she was constantly surrounded by Alpha men more than capable, and willing, to lay down their life for her. But when she visits her friend in San Antonio, and acts on suspicious activity at Milena’s workplace, Sadie puts both of them in the crosshairs of a madman. After several harrowing weeks, her friend is now safe, but for Sadie, the repercussions of her rash act linger on.

Chase Jackson, no stranger to dangerous situations as a captain in the US Army, has volunteered himself as Sadie's bodyguard. He fell head over heels for the beautiful woman the first time he laid eyes on her. With a Delta Force team at his back, he reassures the Taggart's that Sadie will be safe. But when the situation in San Antonio catches up with her, Chase has to use everything he's learned over his career to keep his promise...and to keep Sadie alive long enough to officially make her his.

This is a Lexi Blake, Masters and Mercenaries, crossover.

I don’t remember exactly in which book of the series,  but McKay-Taggart has a new division of bodyguards. Each man of that division will have a book in this crossover with a different author writing.

This is Sadie Jennings, Sean Taggart’s niece and receptionist at McKay-Taggart with Chase Jackson from Susan Stoker’s Delta Force team.

 

  • Addictiveness: Highly addictiveness. It was a fast, sexy read!
  • Character: hero 4/5, heroine 4/5, secondary characters 4/5, growth 3/5, real 3/5 I love both characters, but I haven’t read Justice for Milena yet and it was obvious that I needed to have read it to understand Sadie. So, I felt a bit lost on this story.
  • Cover: art 5/5, title 5/5, subtitle 4/5, color-font 4/5, buy 4/5 I love this cover, but it doesn’t have much of the story on it.The guy is sexy and I love the colors used here. I would buy this book without reading the blurb, but I missed more of the story on this cover.
  • Romance: believable 5/5, chemistry 5/5, description 5/5, development 4/5, steam 4/5 It was sexy, sweet romance with some good steam. Shane was protective and hot, Talia was  sweet but also has a backbone. Their romance was really relatable and believable.
  • Writing Style: Great writing! Two wonderful characters, a sexy romance, a well written plot.

  • Freshness: There is nothing very original here, but is so well written that we don’t really care about that.
  • Plot: believable 3/5, conflict 3/5, dialogue 3/5, ending 54/5, enjoyment 3/5, opening 3/5, pace 3/5, setting 3/5, subplots 3/5, twists 3/5  It felt  incomplete. Not because of the writing, that is great, but because is obvious that Sadie’s story started at Justice for Milena, the friend she helped, and if you haven’t read it you don’t get the complete story here. Nowhere on the blurb of this book says this is not a stand-alone. I believe the reader should be warned.

 

Of all the crossover reads this one was the hardest to follow without haven’t read a previous book. I love both Masters and Mercenaries and Delta Force series but I didn’t know what this one was talking about. Yes, I’m a bit OCD with my series in order and I can’t truly enjoy a story when feeling that I’m missing parts of it.

The writing was great, there was a great pace, with good characters and great romance.

 

24/35 STARS –  3 STARS (3 stars between 21 and 24 stars)

Addictiveness: 3 Character: 4  Cover: 4  Freshness: 3  Plot: 2 Romance: 4 Writing Style: 4

Action 3/5

Angst 0/5

Darkness 0/5

Humor 3/5

Romance 5/5

Suspense/Mystery 3/5

Would I recommend? I would recommend this book for followers of the Delta Force series.

Would I re-read this book? After I read the previous book, I will.

Would I re-read this series?  Yes!!!

Would I read more from the author? I love the author and I always look forward to reading her books.

You MAY read this because you follow the series; you SHOULD read this because you like the author; you MUST read this because is a sexy, fast read!!!

 

 

 

About J. Kenner

J. Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.

Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.

JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.

Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.

In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.

About Lexi Blake

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.