Book Tour: In The Line Of Duty by Carolyn Arnold

Posted 03/11/2016 by Isabelle MBTL in giveaways, tours / 5 Comments

Book Tour: In The Line Of Duty by Carolyn Arnold

Book Tour: In The Line Of Duty by Carolyn ArnoldIn The Line Of Duty by Carolyn Arnold
Published by Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc. on September 29, 2016
Pages: 352
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on IBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads

He devoted his life to seeking justice. But would she get any for him?

It was an ordinary day for police officer Barry Weir. It was the end of shift, he was tired, and he just wanted to get home to his wife and kids. But someone had other plans for him, shooting him down and forcing him to make the ultimate sacrifice.

When news of Weir’s murder reaches the department, it leaves Detective Madison Knight and every cop in the Stiles PD itching for revenge. It cuts Madison’s boyfriend, colleague, and Weir’s childhood friend, Troy Matthews, deepest of all, driving him away from everyone he loves just when they need one another the most.

With evidence pointing to a gang-related drive-by, Madison and her team investigate the town’s seedy underbelly in search of justice for their fallen brother. But the deeper they dig, the more convoluted the case becomes. Now they need to figure out if this was a random shooting as part of a gang initiation, a straight-up hate crime, or a targeted kill. But with members of the Stiles PD under attack, they have to do it fast…before more officers pay with their lives.

 

 

 

IN THE LINE OF DUTY

 Madison Knight #7

 Carolyn Arnold

 

cover

 

Amazon     Barnes and Noble   Apple iBooks   Kobo   Google Play

 

 

books-itlod

 

ABOUT THE DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES

 

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

 

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, Blue Bloods, Rizzoli and Isles, Women’s Murder Club, and Hawaii Five-O.

 

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).

 

loss

 

 

 

excerpt

 

Excerpt from Chapter 3

 

Troy gripped the sink in the men’s washroom at the Stiles police station with both hands and stared at himself in the mirror. He’d lost men close to him before. The last one was two years ago, and the officer had been killed in a car accident while off duty. He’d left behind two kids and a wife. But Barry…he was different. Life always equaled death, of course. It was a simple equation to accept until it touched close to home. And that’s what Barry’s death was for him—personal.

 

Losing Barry made it clear just how dangerous this job could be and how fragile life was. One minute here, the next gone. Barry had just been pumping gas, a routine thing, something people did all the time without any thought to their safety. Those on the outside would say that’s the risk he took being in law enforcement. Yes, there was the chance any one of them wouldn’t return home from a shift, but it wasn’t something Troy consciously thought about before heading to work.

 

In fact, when serving in a SWAT capacity, he’d say it was one of the safest positions within the Stiles PD. SWAT had the toys, and when they showed up to manage a situation, it was often brought under control rather quickly. Even the majority of criminals didn’t want to tango with an AR-15 and armored vehicles. Besides, dwelling on one’s mortality wasn’t healthy. But when something like this happened to one of their own, it spurred on such self-reflection. It could have easily been him in the morgue, or one of his team members. Or Madison…

 

His insides quivered with rage as his heartbeat slowed with his grief. He squeezed his eyes shut.

 

“I’ve got Dad’s car tonight,” Barry says. “We’ll take it out on the back roads and see what she’s really capable of.”

 

“Your dad’s a cop, Barry,” Troy reminds him.

 

“So? What he doesn’t know won’t hurt him.” Barry takes a few steps down the hall of their high school but stops and spins when Troy doesn’t follow. “Come on, man. Don’t make me take Lyman.”

 

Troy came back from his thoughts and opened his eyes to find himself staring at his reflection.

 

That night had been one of the best ever. Barry had sent the car airborne by racing over the railway tracks on the outskirts of the city. They’d even conned some seniors into getting beer for them and drank it by the tracks later that night.

 

Barry had made Troy feel alive…

 

Pain knotted in his chest, the regrets over skipping drinks with Barry last week paired with losing a part of his childhood somehow.

 

Troy pinched the bridge of his nose as the memories continued to rush over him.

 

“I just got my acceptance letter.” Barry holds the envelope in his hand. “This college has the hottest chicks… Not that it would matter to you.”

 

“What does that mean?”

 

“It’s Lauren and Troy sitting in a tree…” Barry sings.

 

“Seriously? You’re like a girl sometimes, you know that? A big, emotional girl.”

 

“Hey!” Barry punches him playfully in the arm.

 

Madison punched him in the arm sometimes, too…

 

God, what would he have done if Madison were the one who’d been killed?

 

 

 

giveaway

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

follow the tour

November 1 Guest Blog
Roxanne’s Realm
November 1 Spotlight
Mello and June, It’s a Book Thang!
November 2 Spotlight
Silver Dagger Scriptorium
November 3 Spotlight
More Books Than Livros
November 4 Spotlight
The Book Tree
November 4 Spotlight
Book lover promo
November 7 Guest Blog
Fang-tastic Books
November 8 Spotlight
Infinite House of Books
November 9 Spotlight
Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer
November 10 Spotlight
3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, and Sissy, Too!
November 11 Spotlight
Books N Pearls
November 14 Spotlight
Sapphyria’s Book Reviews
November 15 Spotlight
Books,Dreams,Life
November 16 Guest Blog
T’s Stuff
November 17 Guest Blog
The Creatively Green Write at Home Mom
November 18 Spotlight
Lisa’s World of Books
November 21 Spotlight
Don’t Judge, Read
November 22 Guest Blog
Lisa’s Loves(Books of Course)
November 24 Spotlight
Books and Tales
November 24 Review
Lynn’s Romance Enthusiasm
November 25 Spotlight
The Cubicle Escapee
November 28 Spotlight
Ogitchida Kwe’s Book Blog
November 29 Spotlight
Illuminite Caliginosus
November 29 Spotlight
Just a Little RandR
November 30 Spotlight
Sylv all about books and films
November 30 Guest Blog
The Book Junkie Reads

bbt

About Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

Tags:



  • Cathy French

    I’m glad that even tho this book is a part of a series you can read it as a stand alone.

  • These series sound like something right up my alley. I’m a big fan of CSI!

  • Thanks for the giveaway!

  • shannon fowler

    This sounds like a really great plot! Thanks for sharing this one with us.

  • Stacey Roberson

    I love the cover! It gives a good description of what the book is about.